v4.0.25

Sharing

contents | prev | next

Everything in eCAT is a record, and you use the sharing pages to determine which users and groups can access which records. There are two ways to look at sharing - simple sharing and advanced sharing. Simple sharing is enabled by default and is the most, well, simple! Advanced sharing is more useful if you are applying a set of permissions to a large number of users or groups. A preference can be set to determine which page is displayed by default.

Simple sharing

The simple sharing screen is split into three steps. The first asks you to select what permission you wish to change - view, edit, delete and set collaboration and is shown below. Note that changing some permissions can have an effect on others as well. For example removing view permission requires the removal of all other permissions also because a user cannot edit or delete a record that the system does not allow them to see.

Simple sharing step 1

Simple sharing step 1

When you select a permission to change, step 2 becomes active. Here you can add and remove users and groups to and from the selected permission. So if you were working with view permission, you can add or remove view permission to and from any user or group. The list of changes is shown for both additions and removals.

Simple sharing step 2

Simple sharing step 2

The final step simply involves checking over your sharing setting in step 2 and then clicking "Submit" to update the settings.

Simple sharing step 3

Simple sharing step 3


Advanced sharing

If no sharing settings are defined for a given record, then the setting is taken from the parent record of the given record - i.e. the record above the given record in the Record Tree. This is shown on-screen by having the "From Parent" checkbox selected and the other checkboxes are disabled. The settings inherited from the parent are displayed in the disabled checkboxes so it is simple to see what the current settings are. This system allows permissions to filter down the Tree so you do not have to set the permissions on every record - just on records that require it.

The From Parent checkbox

The From Parent checkbox

In the above example, which focuses only on users and not groups, bob and ian are taking their settings from the parent record and are only allowed to view the record. Mike on the other hand has specific settings for him for this record, allowing him to both view and append.

Changing settings

To set the sharing for a given record you should first uncheck the "From Parent" checkbox to enable the other checkboxes. These can then be set as required.

The following settings are available:

Note that there can be a lot of checkboxes on this page when you have many users or groups. To simplify management of sharing there are icons at the top of each column and the start of each row which when clicked will check or uncheck the entire column or row.

Groups and Sharing

In addition to applying sharing for a single user, it can also be applied for a group of users. These settings work in exactly the same way as settings for a user except that they will apply to all users in that group.

Group permissions

Group permissions

A user is considered to be allowed to perform an action on a record if they have that action set for themselves or if they are in any group which has that action set. Using the above example, if bob was in Group 1, then bob would be able to edit that record because Group 1 has its edit checkbox set.

Recursively Applying Sharing Settings

In general sharing settings do NOT need to be applied recursively, i.e. the settings do not have to be explicitly applied to child records. This is because a child record takes its settings from its parent. If you need to require every child of a given record to have its sharing explicitly set then the checkbox "Apply these settings recursively to all child records:" should be checked. This is useful, for example, to remove some settings that have been previously set on a subtree.

Recursive permissions

Recursive permissions


Updating Settings

When the sharing settings are as required clicking the "Save" button will update the system with the new settings. After settings have been saved, any record that has had its settings changed needs to be re-indexed. The system does this automatically and in the background.