v4.0.25

Deleting and Restoring

contents | prev | next

Deleting Samples

Deleting samples from a sample container is very easy - just select the samples you wish to delete and click the delete button as shown below:

The delete button

The delete button

When you confirm the deletion, the samples will be deleted. Like everything else in eCAT a deleted sample can be restored. Restoring samples is explained at the bottom of this topic.

Deleting containers

Deleting containers is done by clicking the "Delete" menu entry in the container menu on the left hand side when viewing a container. The following page is displayed:

Container deletion

Container deletion

You now have two options - you can delete the container and all of its samples, or you can just delete all of the samples and leave the container. The option you choose affects how the deleted samples and/or container will be restored. If you delete the container then if you want to restore it you need to restore the container (and its deleted samples) using the restore container options in your preferences. If you delete the samples you can restore them or a subset of them in the restore samples page in the Preferences tab.

Restoring samples

You can restore deleted samples by going to Preferences and then clicking on "Restore Deleted Samples". The following page is displayed.

Restoring samples

Restoring samples

You can select the samples you wish to restore and then click "Restore". Samples are always restored to the Workbench. You can them move them from the Workbench into other containers.

Restoring containers

If you have deleted an entire container, you can restore it (and all its samples) by using the "Restore Deleted Containers" menu option in your preferences. The following page is displayed.

Restoring containers

Restoring containers

Here you need to select the containers you wish to restore, then click on "Select a destination container by clicking here and then on a container in the popup that appears" to select a target container to restore your container to.

When you have chosen a container to restore and a destination location, click "Restore" to perform the restore.