v4.0.28

Renaming a template

templates | contents

If you choose to rename a template you are presented with the following screen.

Renaming a template

Renaming a template

Enter the new name for the template.

When you have finished renaming the template you then need to decide how to update existing records that use this template. You have a number of options as shown below:

Template update options

Template update options

When you rename a template you can choose to update none, some or all of the records of that template.

If you choose to update all records, then all records of that template will have their template set to the latest version of the template.

If you choose to update only records using current version, then all records of that template that are using the current version of that template will be updated.

An example follows:

Imagine that you have created a template called "MyTemplate". You then create some records of template MyTemplate and they will use the only version of MyTemplate available - version 1. You then edit "My Template" but choose not to update any records. You then add some new records of template MyTemplate. These new records will be on version 2, but the original records would be on version 1. If you updated all records then records using both version 1 and version 2 of MyTemplate would be updated. If you updated only records at the current version only the records at version 2 of MyTemplate would be updated.

You also have the option of updating no records at all - this simply creates a new version of the template.

Finally, whenever any record needs to be updated, it needs to be locked. If another user is editing that record, the template update will fail because the record is locked. You can force the removal of the locks by checking the box "Ignore locked records" but this can cause data loss for the user that had the lock.

To save the changes click the Save button to rename the template.