v4.0.25

Preferences

contents | prev | next

eCAT has a preferences system that allows you to customize the application in a variety of ways.

The available preferences

The available preferences

Here you can see a summary of all the preference options you have selected so far. There are preferences for the Dashboard, for adding records, for records in general, for notifications, for search and for how data is displayed in tables.

To change any of these preference settings, click the "Preferences" option in the menu to the left. To return to the summary view click "Preference Summary".

Changing preferences

Changing preferences

The image above shows you editing your preferences. This page is very similar to the summary screen, but now all the preferences can be set. When you are finished editing the preferences click "Save" at the bottom of the page to update eCAT with your selections.

Overridden preference

Overridden preference

In order to better control eCAT for administrators, it is possible to force the setting of a given user permission. If that has occurred you will not be able to set the permission. An example of this is shown above. The administrator has decided that all users need to see the advanced Record Add options, so this option cannot be unchecked by the user. Mousing over the blue information icon will create a popup explaining this.

As an admin user, you can set your own preferences in the same way as above. If you go into the administration section and click on Preferences you can access the system preferences. These are just the same as the normal preferences except that every option is set to "Don't Override!" by default. This means that a normal user will be able to set that preference for themself.

If you wish to force any preferences to apply system-wide then you can set them here. Users will then not be able to set that value in their preferences page.

In addition, some preferences are only available to administrative users.

Deleting Users and Projects

Deleting Users and Projects

The folder options above determine whether or not the Users folder and the Projects and Experiments folder actually exist. Removing these folders can have consequences for other permissions - in particular the Dashboard creation location. Unchecking these boxes will delete the contents of the Users and Projects and Experiments folders. These folders can be restored by the admin user in the Deleted Records section.

Create permissions

Create permissions

Administrative users can also specify the permissions assigned to a record when a user creates it. These can be full control, full control except sharing, and full control except for sharing and delete. Setting these values allows you to further tie down the system. The first option allows admins to specify completely who can see what records. The second option prevents accidental deletion of data and can be useful in heavily regulated environments.